book talk · Monthly Wrap Ups · Uncategorized

April Wrap Up // 2017

Happy May, everyone!

April was a good reading month for me. I finished 5 books (one was a re-read) and enjoyed them all. I flew through all of these books, so let’s talk about them!

12294652941628131532349228218692431

 

 

My Life Next Door – Huntley Fitzpatrick:

rating: 4.5/5 stars

THOUGHTS: I posted a review here if you want to check it out. Quick sum up? I really liked this book, and Jase was added to my list of fictional boyfriends.

Confessions of a Shopaholic – Sophie Kinsella:

rating: 4/5 stars

THOUGHTS: I loved this book so much! I watched the movie years ago as a young teenager and loved it. The book is different from the movie, and I mean that in a good way. I laughed out loud, and binge-read every time I picked up the book. This book was insanely entertaining, and I definitely plan on picking up the rest of the series! Bonus: it was a thrift store find for only 25 cents.

Thirteen Reasons Why – Jay Asher:

rating: 3/5 stars

THOUGHTS: Alright, this one is going to be quite interesting, because I have many thoughts and my rating goes back-and-forth. I re-read this book so I could watch the show on Netflix since I hadn’t read it since I was 15, back when the hype was huge surrounding this book, and I fell into it. After re-reading, I realized I didn’t like it as much as I did back then. Don’t get me wrong, I love that the book sends out a “think twice about how you treat and talk to people” message. My biggest problem is that I’m not a big fan of Hannah, and I wasn’t back when I first read it, either. There are things about this book that simply annoy and irritate me. That being said, it’s still a compelling read and I flew through it quickly.

Nowhere But Here – Katie McGarry:

rating: 4/5 stars

THOUGHTS: Throughout the first half of this book, I found myself getting bored occasionally.  Suddenly, the second half picked up and I ended up binging the second half of the book in one sitting. It was funny, all of the characters are interesting in their own way, I loved the loyalty in the family, and OZ. Sigh, he was my favorite. I plan on reading the rest of the series, for sure.

Everything, Everything – Nicola Yoon:

rating: 5/5 stars

THOUGHTS: I really, really liked this book. It was a fast read, and I finished it in one day. I loved the writing style, and the little drawings throughout the book were cute. I loved the relationship between Madeline and Olly. This book is definitely one the best I’ve read this year, so far.

That’s all of the books I read in April! I’m super happy with the books I read. Considering I only read 2 last month, I think 5 is a good improvement. I’m excited for all of the books I plan on reading in May!

What was your favorite April read?

Instagram|Goodreads

Leave a Reply

