book review · book talk · Uncategorized

My Life Next Door – Huntley Fitzpatrick // Thoughts & Review

12294652

Synopsis from Goodreads: “One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.

THOUGHTS:

Rating: 4.5/5 stars.

My Life Next Door had been on my Goodreads TBR for a few years. I was pulled in from the cover, the synopsis and all of the amazing reviews from people I know. Once I finally got my hands on this book back in December of 2016, I was ecstatic.

I finished reading this last night. I binge-read the last 150 pages because it was so good. Judging by my rating, you can tell I enjoyed it.

So, let’s talk about some of the reasons why I loved this book so much!

  1. Jace and Samantha’s relationship. For being seventeen, Jace and Samantha are very mature characters with good heads on their shoulders. I loved this couple. They were so honest, real, and loving towards each other. Jace is the perfect boyfriend, because he’s patient and respectful towards Samantha, which is how it should be. I found myself rooting for them, because in my opinion, they just fit so well together.
  2. The Garretts, especially George! I love that this book featured a family that was not only big, but very realistic. Big families can be hectic, loud, and messy. But there’s so much love. George was such a cutie, and every moment he was in the book, I couldn’t help but smile.
  3. Tim! I know, kind of shocking considering how crazy and irresponsible his character was throughout the beginning and middle of the book, but I found myself rooting for him and over time he grew on me.
  4. I loved that the secondary characters were interesting, and had lives and stories to tell. Except for Tracy, who was hardly in the book, but still. Sometimes secondary characters can be boring and almost pointless at times, but in this book, that wasn’t the case. Props to Fitzpatrick for that.

Now, onto things I didn’t like:

Clay and Samantha’s mom. Oh my goodness, where do I begin. I don’t want to give away any spoilers for my readers who haven’t but want to read this book, so all I’m going to say is that if/when you read this, don’t be surprised if you feel absolutely frustrated by both of them. I sure did.

Overall, this book was so good. You all know how much I love my YA contemporary novels, so it’s probably not much of a surprise. I definitely plan on reading more of Huntley Fitzpatrick’s work, because her writing is so lovely.

If you’ve read this book, what did you think?

Instagram | Goodreads

 

 

One thought on “My Life Next Door – Huntley Fitzpatrick // Thoughts & Review

Leave a Reply

