book talk · Uncategorized

Books I Can’t Wait to Read in 2017

I know it’s March, but I figured it’s not too late to talk about the books I’m extremely excited to read that come out this year! I think we can all agree that waiting for a book that sounds really good, or a book published by an author you absolutely love, is a pain. With the torture, comes the anticipation to finally hold that book in your hands.

There’s quite a few books I’m excited to read this year. Let’s get into it!

 

30312860

Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

Expected publication: May 2nd 2017

Description from Goodreads:

Lara Jean is having the best senior year a girl could ever hope for. She is head over heels in love with her boyfriend, Peter; her dad’s finally getting remarried to their next door neighbor, Ms. Rothschild; and Margot’s coming home for the summer just in time for the wedding.

But change is looming on the horizon. And while Lara Jean is having fun and keeping busy helping plan her father’s wedding, she can’t ignore the big life decisions she has to make. Most pressingly, where she wants to go to college and what that means for her relationship with Peter. She watched her sister Margot go through these growing pains. Now Lara Jean’s the one who’ll be graduating high school and leaving for college and leaving her family—and possibly the boy she loves—behind.

When your heart and your head are saying two different things, which one should you listen to?

Words cannot express how excited I am for this book! I was over the moon when I found out that Jenny Han decided to continue this story, because I absolutely adore it. P.S I Still Love You had me feeling so many different emotions, all I wanted to do was continue reading and find out what happens next. That tends to happen a lot whenever I read a Jenny Han book. She creates characters I can’t help but get invested in. I highly recommend reading this amazing trilogy, you won’t be disappointed. (Also, can we talk about how cute this cover is? YES.)

15797848

There’s Someone Inside Your House – Stephanie Perkins

Expected publication: September 12th 2017

Description from Goodreads:

Scream meets YA in this hotly-anticipated new novel from the bestselling author of Anna and the French Kiss.

One-by-one, the students of Osborne High are dying in a series of gruesome murders, each with increasing and grotesque flair. As the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, the dark secrets among them must finally be confronted.

International bestselling author Stephanie Perkins returns with a fresh take on the classic teen slasher story that’s fun, quick-witted, and completely impossible to put down.


This book sounds suuuuuper intriguing, and I’m getting Scream vibes. I’m a huege fan of slasher films and creepy stories, and I’m also a big fan of Stephanie Perkins. Anna and the French Kiss is one of my all time favorite books, and I’m excited to see what happens in There’s Someone Inside Your House. This sounds like the perfect book to read around Halloween time, and I think Stephanie Perkins is going to kill it, like always.

28421168

Renegades by Marissa Meyer

Expected publication: November 7th, 2017

Description from Goodreads:

Secret Identities.
Extraordinary Powers.
She wants vengeance. He wants justice.

The Renegades are a syndicate of prodigies—humans with extraordinary abilities—who emerged from the ruins of a crumbled society and established peace and order where chaos reigned. As champions of justice, they remain a symbol of hope and courage to everyone…except the villains they once overthrew.

Nova has a reason to hate the Renegades, and she is on a mission for vengeance. As she gets closer to her target, she meets Adrian, a Renegade boy who believes in justice—and in Nova. But Nova’s allegiance is to a villain who has the power to end them both.

Superpowers. Villains. Crime. Marissa Meyer. SIGN ME UP. I’ve almost finished The Lunar Chronicles Series, and considering how much I love Marissa Meyer’s writing and story-lines, I know for a fact I’m going to love this. The plot sounds awesome, and I’m definitely picking this book up ASAP.

30256248

By Your Side by Kasie West

Published: January 31st, 2017

Description from Goodreads:

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

Luckily if this book sounds interesting to you, it’s already out! I haven’t read any Kasie West, but I’ve heard so many good things. Everyone knows I’m a sucker for a good YA contemporary, and this sounds like the perfect YA read.

32078787

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

Expected Publication:June 6th, 2017

Description from Goodreads:

Louna, daughter of famed wedding planner Natalie Barrett, has seen every sort of wedding: on the beach, at historic mansions, in fancy hotels and clubs. Perhaps that’s why she’s cynical about happily-ever-after endings, especially since her own first love ended tragically. When Louna meets charming, happy-go-lucky serial dater Ambrose, she holds him at arm’s length. But Ambrose isn’t about to be discouraged, now that he’s met the one girl he really wants.

Sarah Dessen’s many, many fans will adore her latest, a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story that has everything—humor, romance, and an ending both happy and imperfect, just like life itself.

I recently got into Sarah Dessen. She writes the perfect YA contemporary books to read during the summer, and I’ve really enjoyed all of her books I’ve read so far. Once and For All sounds like a sweet YA novel that I’m excited to get my hands on.

That’s my list for now! What are some of your highly anticipated books of 2017? I’d love to know!

Instagram | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

