book talk · Uncategorized

Bookstagram: What I’ve Learned in Six Months

16266279_10154787608887349_2771317269702590773_n

Hello! Today I wanted to chit-chat about the wonderful world of bookstagram! If you have no idea what bookstagram is, it’s a community on instagram that is devoted to all things books! Awesome, right?

I wanted to talk about what I’ve learned in first six months, how I came across the bookstagram community, and share a couple of tips with people who are just starting out and/or interested in bookstagram.

Discovering Bookstagram:

I came across the bookstagram community around the same time I started watching booktube videos on Youtube. Instantly, I fell in love with all of the pretty book photography. As a girl who loves both books and photography, I knew right then and there I wanted to make an account someday.I loved the fact that there was a huge community for it, full of sweet and nerdy people: two qualities I LOVE. Overall it seemed like a fun hobby to have.

Creating My Account:

I had plans for months and months to create my bookstagram account, but never got around to it. For the longest time, I always wanted to be a part of the bookish community in some sort of way. Whether it be booktube, bookstagram, blogging, anything. It just felt right, because I love reading and talking about books, I just didn’t know where (or when) to start.

One day during the summer of 2016 (August, to be exact) I took the plunge and create my account @sunsnacksseries. The name was something I thought of months prior. I thought it was cute, catchy, and different. The name didn’t revolve around just books, which I liked, because if I decided I wanted to post pictures of food and photos from traveling, it all went together with my account name.

Shortly after creating my account, I took a bunch of photos, added hashtags to the captions, and the next thing I know I started gaining followers and getting likes on my photos. I think I had around 24 followers on my first day, which I thought was huge since from the beginning, the numbers were never important to me. I didn’t set goals to reach 500 followers in a week, or 1,000 in a month. It was just a fun hobby, and still is to this day.

Creating a bookstagram account was one of the best decisions I’ve made. It’s the perfect place for me to geek out, do what I love, meet new people and get creative.

A Few Things I’ve Learned:

  •  The bookstagram community is HUGE. Scroll through a couple of book related hashtags and you’ll see what I’m talking about!
  • We are very passionate about our books, fandoms, and fictional characters. It’s the perfect place to geek out if you’re into that.
  • The community is full of some of the most sweetest people from all over the world. I’ve made a bunch of awesome friends, and for that alone I’m so thankful.
  • It’s the perfect place to discover awesome books. I added some to my TBR on goodreads just from some major cover-love alone.
  • People will follow to unfollow. I wanted to include this because it’s something that happens a lot to everyone. One day you’ll gain ten followers, then the next you might lose half of them. There are plenty of accounts that will follow just to get a follow back, and unfollow you later. It happens.
  • Some people care about themed feeds, others don’t. At the end of the day, it’s important to post what you want to. That’s what will attract people!

Now, I wanted to give a couple of tips & tricks! These have worked for me personally, and you definitely don’t have to follow them if you choose not to!

  • Hashtags, hashtags, hashtags. This is very important if you want to put your name out there and get people to see your photos.
  • Good lighting + camera care = good quality. Luckily, I already had a DSLR camera before going into this since photography has been a passion of mine for years, but you definitely don’t need a fancy camera to create good quality! Make sure you have good lighting, clean your phone/lense, and mess around with different angles to make pretty pictures. Some of my most popular photos were taken with my iphone.
  • Interact. This is my favorite part. I love sharing the love, commenting on photos, tagging people in posts,  getting to know my followers.
  • Edit your photos. This is important! Editing can turn a mediocre photo into something truly beautiful, just by playing around with filters, brightness and contrast.
  • Be consistent and post often. A lot of people look for that when following new accounts, myself included. I post about once a day.
  • Post for you, not anyone else. Don’t always think about the number of likes you get, or followers you have. Remember why you started your bookstagram and have passion for it. Sometimes striving for popularity makes you lose sight on what bookstagram is supposed to be: FUN!

I hope you guys enjoyed reading my little bookstagram rambles! Hopefully I shared some good tips and info. I definitely plan on making a part two later on in the future.

If you have a bookstagram account, feel free to follow or leave a comment with your username! I’d love to check yours out!

Leave a Reply

