book review · Uncategorized

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Book Review

unexpectedeverythingI thought I’d start off my first blog post with a book review of my first read this year: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson.

Synopsis: Andie had it all planned out. When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future. Important internship? Check. Amazing friends? Check. Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life. Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected. And where’s the fun in that?

THOUGHTS:

I gave this book 4/5 stars on Goodreads.

Before I start, I just have to say that Morgan Matson has become one of my favorite authors over the past few years. I’m a sucker for a good YA contemporary and she never fails at making me fall in love with her books, along with her characters.

I end up binge-reading most of her books in two sittings. No shame.

The Unexpected Everything was a fun read! I liked that even though there was a lot of light summer fun, there was also grief, strained relationships, and friendships that can easily change when you don’t expect them to…

Andie was an interesting character. I liked that she wasn’t picture-perfect. She had flaws, she made mistakes in her relationship, she said things she probably shouldn’t have said…but I kinda liked that.

Clark was my favorite part, and he’s definitely getting added to my list of fictional book boyfriends because I loved how nerdy and sweet and awkward he was! Not to mention a fantasy author? HELLO, goals! Clark was so honest about his feelings, and watching his relationship grow with Andie made my heart melt. Even though it wasn’t always perfect.

Now, onto her dad…at first I couldn’t stand him, but I was always rooting for him. The relationship development between Andie and her father made me so happy once they were able to grow a stronger bond and move past certain things.

Bonus: I was sooo happy when Frank and Emily made an appearance! SYBG is one one of all time favorite books.

Overall, I would recommend this to anyone that loves a good YA contemporary novel…and a good nerdy book boy…of course!

 

Leave a Reply

